if ( false !== et_get_option( 'show_footer_social_icons', true ) ) {get_template_part( 'includes/social_icons', 'footer' ); }?>
  • Beethoven: Sonata in E flat, Op. 7
  • David Matthews: Two Dionysus Dithyrambs, Op. 94
  • G Ligeti: Two Etudes
  • Y. Yang: Waves and Prayers of the North
  • Chopin: Sonata no. 3 in B minor, Op. 58


  • 1st prize Cleveland International Piano Competition, 2015
  • 1st prize Liszt Competition, Weimar, 2014
  • 1st prize Keyboard BBC Young Musician, 2012

I first heard Yuanfan in 2010 when he was the winner in the James Mottram under-19 piano competition at RNCM.

The next occasion was at the practice session for last year’s Chethams concert with the Elgar Quintet.

I went only to the practice but on hearing Yuanfan try out La Campanella on our piano during a lull in proceedings knew immediately that I had to bring him to Rhyl as a soloist.

Yuanfan is also a composer so who knows where his future career will develop.