if ( false !== et_get_option( 'show_footer_social_icons', true ) ) {get_template_part( 'includes/social_icons', 'footer' ); }?>

Jonathan Radford – saxophone and Kaoli Ono – piano

  • Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue for soprano, alto and tenor saxophone and piano
  • Debussy: Rhapsodie for alto saxophone and piano
  • Grieg: (violin) sonata op.8
  • Lauba Christian: Jungle for solo alto saxophone
  • Vitali Tomaso: Chaconne in G minor
  • Vivancos Bernat: Moustik’s Etude
  • Albeniz: Suite Española op.47 – # 1 Granada, #5 Asturias, #3 Sevilla
  • Iturralde Pedro: Pequeña Czarda

The highly gifted saxophonist on the prestigious Making Music AYCA scheme is joined by the equally impressive Kaoli from the Conservatoire de Lyon.

Jonathan attended Chethams, obtained his MA in Paris where he was the first British saxophonist to enter Claude Delangle’s world famous class and now continues his studies at the Royal College of Music.

Kaoli Ono has just completed her repetiteur studies at the Paris Conservatoire including a year in Berlin.

Ruth Hayes, saxophone and Helen Davies, piano

Artist Details


  • Tableaux de Provence – Paule Maurice
  • Improvisation 1 – Ryo Noda
  • Sonata – Heiden
  • Asturias – Busser
  • Saxophone Concerto – Glazounov
  • Sonata for Soprano Saxophone – Richard Rodney Bennett

Ruth is studying the saxophone with Kyle Horch at the Royal College of Music, London.

In 2011, Ruth played the saxophone with the Na-tional Youth Orchestra of Great Britain for Berg’s Violin Concerto , and also played Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet for a BBC Prom performance at the Royal Albert Hall.

Ruth has performed with the RCM Symphony Orchestra under Vladimir Jurowski, and will be playing Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances with the orchestra again later this year.

Also at RCM, she is a member of RCM Swing Band, RCM Saxophone Ensemble, RCM Wind Ensemble and RCM Big Band.

Ruth is the tenor saxophone player of the Primavera Saxophone Quartet at RCM who have performed in masterclasses with Claude Delangle, Amy Dickson and Rob Buckland and they give recitals regularly in London.

She has been a member of various bands and orchestras in Wales and is currently principal saxophone of the National Youth Wind Orchestra of Wales.

Ruth was awarded the Muriel Lewis Award from Rhyl Music Club in 2011.

Absolution Saxophone Quartet

Artist Details:

  • Anthony Brown, soprano saxophone
  • Jennifer Palfreyman, alto saxophone
  • Spencer Moran, tenor saxophone
  • Fraser Johnstone, baritone saxophone

Additional Information:

Website: www.absolutionsaxophonequartet.com


The Absolution Saxophone Quartet appears by kind permission of the RNCM

Since being formed at the Royal Northern College of Music in 2006, the Absolution Saxophone Quartet have won a number of prizes including the ‘RNCM Ensemble of the Year 2009’ and given a recital at the Queen Elizabeth Hall.

In addition to their competition successes, the group takes part in educational projects throughout the UK as active members of ‘Live Music Now’.

As part of the 2010 Sounds New Festival, Absolution launched their own cutting-edge multimedia project, Shattered Unity and they have also performed contemporary music for saxophone quartet including world premieres by Manchester based composers such as Emma-Ruth Richards and Duncan Ward (resident composer to the royal house)